the District

Photos and story by: Angie Kothmann, SMPDD Marketing Manager 228-868-2313 RELEASE DATE: August 7, 2015

## George County Students Receive SMPDD Scholarship

Pictured left to right George County Supervisors Fred Croom, Larry McDonald, Scholarship recipients Emily McLeod, Ashlyn Johnson, George County Supervisors Kelly Wright, Larry Havard.

**NEWS/PSA** The newly established scholarship by the Southern Mississippi Planning and Development District, Inc. (SMPDD) was awarded to George County students Lillian Bass, Ashlyn Johnson and Emily McLeod. These students will be attending Mississippi Gulf Community College (MGCCC) this fall.



George County Supervisor and SMPDD board member, Larry McDonald, is honored to award this \$750 scholarship to these students. McDonald said, "On behalf of the George County Board of Supervisors we are grateful to be able to award these scholarships to these students with the help of SMPDD."

MGCCC scholarship recipient, Lillian Bass, said "It has been a blessing to receive this scholarship and it has motivated me to do better in school. This will definitely help out with my college expenses."

Bass is enrolled in the medical assistant program.

George County Supervisor, Kelly Wright said, "Here at the George County Board of Supervisors, we are appreciative to be able to help these students in our community by awarding these scholarships. Education is very important and we look forward to their future and watching them succeed in life."

MGCCC nursing student, Emily McLeod, said, "I am honored to receive this scholarship and it is truly a blessing."

Ashlyn Johnson, who will graduate this December with her cosmetology degree, said, "This has been a blessing for my family and I because we have had a hard time trying to figure out how to pay for my college."

Since its beginning in 1967, SMPDD has continually evolved to meet the needs, discover opportunities and anticipate the trends challenging the economic vitality, environmental integrity, and overall quality of life enjoyed in South Mississippi, which includes offering assistance to future leaders.

The Southern Mississippi Planning and Development District, through the leadership of the local officials comprising its board of directors and the efforts of its staff, assists 38 municipal governments within its 15 county district. The district consists of the following counties and cities within the county: **Covington County**: Collins,

Mount Olive, Seminary; Forrest County: Hattiesburg, Petal; George County: Lucedale; Greene County: Leakesville, McLain, State Line; Hancock County: Bay St. Louis, Diamondhead, Waveland; Harrison County: Biloxi, D'Iberville, Gulfport, Long Beach, Pass Christian; Jackson County: Gautier, Ocean Springs, Moss Point, Pascagoula; Jefferson Davis County: Bassfield, Prentiss; Jones County: Ellisville, Laurel, Sandersville, Soso; Lamar County: Hattiesburg, Lumberton, Purvis, Sumrall; Marion County: Columbia; Pearl River County: Picayune, Poplarville; Perry County: Beaumont, New Augusta, Richton; Stone County: Wiggins; Wayne County: Waynesboro.